Go SEC Sports


        Your SEC Sports News








Go SEC Sports




Florida State is first-place in both polls after scoring with 13 seconds left to beat Auburn 34-31


With 232 rushing yards, Auburn finishes the season with the most yards rushing per game in the nation with 4596. In fact, Auburn is the first SEC team to ever lead the NCAA in rushing.
Auburn has rushed for 1,396 yards in four-straight games vs. ranked opponents. The Tigers rushed for 232 yards vs. No. 1 Florida State, 545 yards vs. No. 5 Missouri in the SEC Championship Game, 296 yards vs. No. 1 Alabama and 323 yards vs. No. 24 Georgia.
Auburn has scored 30 points for the 10th consecutive game for the longest streak in school history. The previous best was in 1994, when the Tigers scored 30 points or more in eight straight games.
Auburn added to three of its school single-season rushing records with rushing 729 attempts, 4596 rushing yards, and 48 rushing touchdowns.
With 53 rushing attempts, Auburn set the all-time SEC record with 729. Auburn's 4,596 yards rushing also extends their SEC record for rushing yards in a season, (Alabama previous held the record with 4,027 set 1973.) Auburn is fourth in SEC history in rushing yards per game.
Auburn has set a school record by scoring 30 or more points in 11 games in 2013, breaking the old mark of nine 30-point games in a season, which was shared by the 1970, 1995, 2004 and 2010 teams.
Auburn's 553 points this season are the 5th most in SEC history
Auburn has 334 first downs, which is second in school history (344 in 2010), the 3rd most in SEC History.
Auburn set a new SEC record with 229 rushing first downs this season, passing the old mark of 213 set by Alabama in 1979.
Auburn set a school record with the fifth consecutive season in which Auburn has had a 1,000-yard rusher; the previous best was four from 2002-2005.
Auburn's 1,000-yard rushers during the current streak include Ben Tate (1,362 yards in 2009); Cam Newton (1,473 yards in 2010); Michael Dyer (1,093 yards in 2010 and 1,242 yards in 2011); Tre Mason (1,002 yards in 2012 and 1,816 yards in 2013); and Nick Marshall (1,068 yards in 2013).
Auburn finished the season with 20 passing touchdowns on the season, which is 4th most in school history.
Auburn set a new school record for offensive plays run in a season, passing the old mark of 948 plays in 2010.
With 449 yards of total offense, the Tigers set a new school record for the most yards of total offense (7,267) in a season, passing the old mark of 6,989 yards in 2010.
Auburn set a new school record for total offense per game (519) surpassing the 2010 season (499.2) yards per game in 2010. The 2013 Tigers finished the season with the sixth most yards total offense in SEC history.
Individual Notes
Tre Mason jumped from eighth to seventh on Auburn's career rushing attempts chart (516). He passed Stephen Davis (1993-95) with 488 and trails Stacy Danley (1987-90) with 526.
Tre Mason jumped from eighth to sixth on Auburn's career rushing yardage chart with 2,979. He passed Brent Fullwood (1983-86) with 2789 and Stephen Davis (1993-95) with 2811. In fact, Mason has the most yards of any Auburn back in history through his junior season.
Tre Mason is currently fourth on Auburn's career chart with 32 rushing touchdowns, trailing Joe Cribbs with 34 for third.
Tre Mason finished the season with the Auburn single-season record for All-Purpose Yards (2374).
Sammie Coates finished the season seventh in touchdown receptions in a single-season with seven, one behind Emory Blake (2010), 2 behind Ronney Daniels (1999) and Byron Franklin (1980) and three behind Darvin Adams (2009) for third.
With 195 yards in tonight's game, Tre Mason broke Bo Jackson's Auburn single-season rushing yards record of 1,786 yards. Mason finished the season with 1,816 yards.
Tre Mason rushed for over 100 yards for the sixth consecutive time and ninth time on the season (12th of his career.)The six consecutive 100-yard games is a new Auburn record.
Tre Mason extended his individual Auburn single-season rushing touchdown record with 23 on the season.
Tre Mason finished the season with the Auburn single-season scoring record of 144 points.
Cody Parkey finished second on Auburn's single-season list for most points kicking with 111. Wes Byrum is the all-time leader with 123 points in 2010.
Parkey also finishes second on the school's single-season chart with in PATs made and attempted (66-of-67). Wes Byrum holds both records going 72-of-73 in 2010.
Marshall finishes the season ranked third on Auburn's single-season list for total offense (3044). He passed Pat Sullivan with 2856 yards in 1970 and trails Cam Newton with 4,327 yards in 2010 and Dameyune Craig with 3,277 yards in 1997.
Nick Marshall and Tre Mason both entered the game with 23 touchdowns responsible for in a tie for fourth on Auburn's single-season chart. Marshall is now now tied with Pat Sullivan with 26, and Mason is tied with Damian Craig for 3rd with 24. (Cam Newton was responsible for 51 in 2010.)
Alex Kozan is the first freshman offensive lineman to start the BCS National Championship game since Alabama's Barrett Jones in 2009.
Game captains for Auburn were senior Chris Davis and junior Reese Dismukes. Auburn's honorary captain was 1985 Heisman Trophy winner Bo Jackson.
Florida State won the toss and deferred until the second half
Tre Mason's first quarter touchdown reception was the first of the season for the junior and the first of his career. He now has 24 touchdowns on the season and 34 in his career (31 rush, 2 KO, 1 REC). With 34 in his career, Mason moves into a tie with Stephen Davis for fourth all-time.
With Nosa Eguae's first quarter sack, he has now recorded a tackle for loss in both the 2011 BCS Championship game and 2014 BCS Championship game.
Melvin Ray's second quarter 50-yard touchdown was the first of his career and just the fifth reception of his career. Nine Tigers have now caught touchdown passes this season.
Seven different receivers hauled in catches for Auburn in the first half
Dee Ford finished the game with 2.0 sacks to give him 10.5 for his career. That total is fifth-best in Auburn history. The Auburn record is 11.5 by Nick Fairley in 2010.
Nick Marshall's fourth quarter interception was his first interception since November 9 at Tennessee.

AP Top 25
1Florida State (60)14-01500
3Michigan State13-11385
4South Carolina11-21247
12Ohio State12-2816
17Oklahoma State10-3598
18Texas A&M9-4459
20Notre Dame9-4256
21Arizona State10-4255
USA Today Poll
1Florida State (59)14-01475
3Michigan State13-11375
4South Carolina11-21219
10Ohio State12-2872
17Oklahoma State10-3587
18Texas A&M9-4443
20Arizona State10-4302
24Notre Dame9-4125



Become a Fan    



Go Big 10 Sports





Copyright  2013 GOSECSPORTS.COM  All rights reserved.
GOSECSPORTS.com is not affiliated in any way with the SEC Conference®.
Team logos are the property of the respective members of the SEC.

This website is an unofficial source of sports news and information, and is not affiliated with any school, team or league.