Go SEC Sports


        Your SEC Sports News

                 Apple iTunes







Go SEC Sports





Seven former Tennessee student-athletes who graduated in the past year have been selected inaugural recipients of the 1A Faculty Athletics Representatives Academic Excellence Award.


Holly Kane, Jena Murphy and Phoebe Wright were named from the UT track and field team, joining soccer’s Molly Delk, softball’s Tiffany Huff and swimming and diving’s Jill Pierce. Geoff Sanders of swimming and diving was chosen as the lone Tennessee male athlete.


The award was established by the 1A Faculty Athletics Representatives to recognize student-athlete academic achievement.


Recipients must have graduated in the past academic year with at least a 3.80 cumulative grade-point average and have participated in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at an FBS institution in a sport sponsored by an FBS conference. Football student-athletes at FBS institutions that are independent in football were also eligible for the award.


The award was given to 432 student-athletes:  136 men and 296 women. Twenty-eight percent of the recipients majored in mathematics, science or engineering; 22 percent in business-related fields; 18 percent in social sciences or humanities; 12 percent in health-related studies; 7 percent in education; 6 percent in communications; and the remaining 7 percent in other fields.



Become a Fan    



Go Big 10 Sports





Copyright  2011 GOSECSPORTS.COM  All rights reserved.
GOSECSPORTS.com is not affiliated in any way with the SEC Conference®.
Team logos are the property of the respective members of the SEC.

This website is an unofficial source of sports news and information, and is not affiliated with any school, team or league.