Go SEC Sports

        Your SEC Sports News







    Mississippi State

Go SEC Sports



MSU Breaks Three School Records, Set 34 New Personal Bests in Nashville 

Records are made to be broken.
A grand total of 34 personal records were shattered by Bulldogs this weekend in the Vanderbilt Invitational, and three school records fell during the two-day event.
Senior Haley Reynolds began the day by breaking the school record in the shot put with a toss of 14.99m. Already the owner of the second best throw in school history two years ago, Reynolds broke the decade old mark of 14.97 set by Nicola Wilson in 2006.
Junior Tiffany Flynn set two new personal-bests, leading off with the 60m hurdles where she placed second with a time of 8.31. That score ties her for fifth place in Mississippi State history with Crystal Wilson, who ran the event in 2010. Flynn later shattered the school record in the triple jump, leaping 13.29m to win the event.
Junior Mia Meydrich took second in the mile run, shaving nearly 10 seconds off of her previous personal best with a time of 4:49.12. Her teammates Shannon Fair and Emma Tucker also set new personal-bests in the event, running times of 4:59.16 and 5:02.30, respectively.
Sophomore Alon Lewis broke a personal record in the 400m run, taking ninth place with a time of 56.18. Senior Ffion Price later broke her own record in the 800m run, which was already good enough for third in Mississippi State history. Her time of 2:08.69 is just behind her twin sister, Rhianwedd, who owns the school’s second best time at 2:08.55.
Rhianwedd took her first shot at the 3000m run during her collegiate career, and grabbed an eighth place finish with a time of 9:33.89. That mark is good for fourth place in Bulldog history.
On the men’s side, junior Willie Reed grabbed a fifth place finish in the 60m hurdle. He set a new personal best time of 8.11.
Freshman Daniel Nixon ran a personal record 1:51.23 in the 800m, finishing third in the event. His time is good for fourth place in the MSU record books. Freshman Stephen Jones recorded the best time among Bulldogs in the 3000m race with a PR 8:33.29.
The final event of the day was the 4x400m relay. Two squads of Bulldogs competed, with the first group consisting of Juston Waters, Phillip Smith, Stephan James and Rasheed Tatham taking second with a time of 3:09.02. The second team of Charles Taylor, Brian Evans, Dustin James II and Joshua Willingham placed ninth, running a time of 3:15.02.
“This was such a fantastic weekend for us all the way around,” MSU Coach Steve Dudley said. “We had 34 new PR’s set, and three broke school records. We had several people who posted scores that might even be enough to qualify them for nationals, and we are only in the second week of the season. The indoor season goes by so quickly, and we are already one third of the way through. We have to take advantage of these next few meets, because nationals are right around the corner.”
MSU returns to action next weekend, heading to Fayettville, Ark. for the Razorback Invitational.
For more information on the MSU track and field team, follow the program on Twitter, like them on Facebook and join them on Instagram by searching @HailStateTF. You can also find all access coverage on SnapChat by searching ‘HailStateSnap’.
Women’s Results
High Jump : Lisanne Hagens, Arizona, 1.84m
MSU : 2. Logan Boss, 1.84m!$
Weight Throw: Deanna Price, NYAC, 23.12m
MSU: 3. Brianna Smith, 19.20m; 9. Haley Reynolds, 17.45m!; 30. Madelyn Lee, 13.80m!
Long Jump: Julienne McKee, 6.43m
MSU: 4. Leah Lott, 6.06m!
200m: Daina Harper, Arkansas, 24.20
MSU: 10. Justice Sims, 24.92!; 15. Alon Lewis, 25.11; 23. Monica Mosley, 25.33!; 29. McKenzie Ethridge, 25.57!
Shot Put: Brashe Wood, Southern Miss, 15.38m
MSU: 2. Haley Reynolds, 14.99m !$; 11. Madelyn Lee, 12.77m!; 22. Chardae Tryon, 11.93m!
60m Hurdle (Prelim): Amber Huges, Tennessee State, 8.34
MSU: 2. Tiffany Flynn, 8.36; 6. Leah Lott, 8.53; 27. Monica Mosley, 9.12!; 32. Alexis Farley, 9.22!
60m Hurdle (Finals): Amber Hughes, Tennessee State, 8.27
MSU: 2. Tiffany Flynn, 8.31!; 4. Leah Lott, 8.41!
Triple Jump: Tiffany Flynn, 13.29m!$
MSU: 7. Alexis Farley, 12.36m!
1-mile run: Claire Green, Arizona, 4:40.78
MSU: Mia Meydrich, 4:49.12!; 12. Shannon Fair, 4:59.16!; 16. Emma Tucker, 5:02.30!
60m Dash (Prelims): Kiara Parker, Arkansas, 7.50
MSU: 12. Justice Sims, 7.72
400m: Daina Harper, Arkansas, 52.72
MSU: 9. Alon Lewis, 56.18!; 16. Keturah Smith, 57.03
800m: Agnes Abu, Middle Tennessee, 2:05.13
MSU: 5. Ffion Price, 2:08.69!
3000m run: Allie Buchalski, Furman, 9:13.39
MSU: 8. Rhianwedd Price, 9:33.89!; 25. Kristy Terp, 10:05.02!; 27. Carly Terp, 10:11.20; 33. Alex Walace, 10:19.45!
Men’s Results
High Jump: Kyle Landon, Southern Illinois, 2.21m
MSU: 19. Alec Byham, 1.90m!
Long Jump: Avery Mickens, Arizona, 7.57m
MSU: 5. Willie Reed, 7.33m
200m Dash: Ncincilili Titi, South Carolina, 21.26
MSU: 5. Charles Taylor, 21.62m; 15. Joshua Willingham, 22.27!; 23. Juston Waters, 22.56
60m Hurdle (Prelim): Isaiah Moore, South Carolina, 7.93
MSU: 6. Willie Reed, 8.25
60m Hurdle (Finals): Isaiah Moore, South Carolina, 7.80
MSU: 5. Willie Reed, 8.11!
60m Dash (Prelim): Rafael Scott, South Alabama, 6.67
MSU: 8. Charles Taylor, 6.84; 16. Phillip Smith, 6.95; 27. Juston Waters, 7.07
60m Dash (Finals): Rafael Scott, South Alabama, 6.59
MSU: 5. Charles Taylor, 6.95
1-mile run: Jack Bruce, Arkansas, 4:00.72
MSU: 22. Aaron Phelps, 4:14.86!
400m: Obi Igbokwe, Arkansas, 46.46
MSU: 4. Stephan James, 47.23; 8. Rasheed Tatham, 47.90; 9. Dustin James, 48:07; 19. Brian Evans, 48.78!; 30. Joshua Willingham, 49.38!
800m: Collins Kibet, Arizona, 1:49.35
MSU: 3. Daniel Nixon, 1:51.23!; 10. Freddie Jackson, 1:53.88!
3000m: Christian Bowles, Georgia Tech, 8:17.62
MSU: 15. Stephan Jones, 8:33.29!; 19. JT Mackay, 8:37.37!; 32. Eryk Yunk, 8:48.91!
4x400m Relay: Arkansas, 3:07.51
MSU: 2. Juston Waters, Phillip Smith, Stephan James, Rasheed Tatham, 3:09.02; 9. Charles Taylor, Brian Evans, Dustin James II, Joshua Willingham 3:15.02






Go Big 10 Sports

  Contact us




Copyright  2016 GOSECSPORTS.COM  All rights reserved.
GOSECSPORTS.com is not affiliated in any way with the SEC Conference®.
Team logos are the property of the respective members of the SEC.

This website is an unofficial source of sports news and information, and is not affiliated with any school, team or league.