Go SEC Sports


        Your SEC Sports News

                 Apple iTunes






    South Carolina

Go SEC Sports



Sabrina D’Angelo Named Semifinalist For Three Awards

South Carolina freshman goalkeeper a semifinalist for three All White Kit postseason awards


COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina freshman goalkeeper Sabrina D’Angelo has been named a semifinalist for three end of the year awards by All White Kit, a premier women’s soccer blog that covers collegiate and professional soccer in the United States and overseas.

D'AngeloD’Angelo was selected as a semifinalist for the Rookie of the Year, Golden Glove Award and International Player of the Year awards in a ballot that was voted on by coaches across the country. The list of finalists will be announced the first week of January.

D’Angelo was named to the NSCAA All-South Region first team, the Soccer America All-Freshman First Team and was picked as SEC Freshman of the Year and SEC Co-Defensive Player of the Year after solidifying herself as the goalkeeper of the year in the SEC as a freshman. D’Angelo was the first player in SEC history to earn two Player of the Year honors in the same season, and she was the only freshman named to the First Team All-SEC list in addition to being the only freshman goalkeeper in the nation to be named to an NSCAA All-Region team. She finished the season fifth among the nation’s freshmen in goals against average (0.80) and 10th in save percentage (.824). D’Angelo was the SEC’s leader in goals against average and set the South Carolina freshman records for goals against average, save percentage, matches played, matches started and wins.

The freshman was one of 14 players named to the Rookie of the Year semifinal list for all first-year players. D’Angelo is the lone goalkeeper on the list and is joined by Morgan Brian (Virginia // Midfielder), Dagny Brynjarsdottir (Florida State // Midfielder), Kelly Cobb (Duke // Forward), Abby Dahlkemper (UCLA // Defender), Jaelene Hinkle (Texas Tech // Defender), Kim Marshall (Wake Forest // Defender), Samantha Mewis (UCLA // Midfielder), Kelley Monogue (Texas A&M // Forward), Riley Ridgik (Wake Forest // Midfielder), Kendall Romine (Stanford // Defender), Kate Schwindel (West Virginia // Forward), Rachel Tejada (Illinois State // Forward) and Chioma Ubogagu (Stanford // Forward).

She is one of 10 players selected as a semifinalist for the Golden Glove Award, awarded to the top goalkeeper in the nation. D’Angelo is the lone freshman on the list and is joined by Aubrey Bledsoe (Wake Forest), Tara Campbell (Duke), Adrianna Franch (Oklahoma State), Alexa Gaul (Texas), Bianca Henninger (Santa Clara), Chantel Jones (Virginia), Natalie Kulla (Marquette), Emily Oliver (Stanford) and Aline Reis (UCF).

Thirteen international student-athletes are represented as semifinalists for the International Player of the Year Award, including D’Angelo who hails from Welland, Ontario, Canada. She is joined on the list by Roxanne Barker (Pepperdine // South Africa), Dagny Brynjarsdottir (Florida State // Iceland), Chelsea Buckland (Oregon State // Canada), Christine Exeter (Louisville // Canada), Nkem Ezurike (Michigan // Nova Scotia), Alina Garciamendez (Stanford // Mexico), Ines Jaurena (Florida State // France), Annika Niemeier (Oklahoma State // Germany), Teresa Noyola (Stanford // Mexico), Christabel Oduro (Memphis // Canada), Aline Reis (UCF // Brazil) and Ingrid Vidal (Kansas // Colombia).



Become a Fan    



Go Big 10 Sports





Copyright  2011 GOSECSPORTS.COM  All rights reserved.
GOSECSPORTS.com is not affiliated in any way with the SEC Conference®.
Team logos are the property of the respective members of the SEC.

This website is an unofficial source of sports news and information, and is not affiliated with any school, team or league.