Go SEC Sports


        Your SEC Sports News

                 Apple iTunes







Go SEC Sports





BATON ROUGE – Three members of LSU’s 2011 Southeastern Conference Championship Team have been selected to participate in the 2012 Senior Bowl in Mobile, Ala., later this month.
Safety Brandon Taylor, tight end Deangelo Peterson and offensive guard Will Blackwell will all take part in the contest that features the top seniors in college football.
All three LSU players are slated to play on the South squad, which will be coached by Mike Shanahan and his Washington Redskins staff.  The 63rd Senior Bowl is set for 3 p.m. CT on Saturday, January 28th in Mobile’s Ladd-Peebles Stadium.  The game and all practices will be televised by NFL Network.
“LSU had a tremendous season and we’re thrilled to be able to bring three deserving players off their SEC Championship squad to this year’s Senior Bowl,” Senior Bowl President and CEO Steve Hale said.  “All three players played key roles in leading LSU to the BCS National Championship game and number two national ranking this season.”
Taylor, a three-year starter in the secondary, started all 14 games for the Tigers in 2011, finishing second on the team with 71 tackles. He added 7.5 tackles for loss, two interceptions and five pass breakups.
Peterson, who started five games in 2011 and 10 in his career, ranked third on the team with 18 catches for 179 yards and one touchdown as a senior. For his career, Peterson caught 39 passes for 459 yards and three touchdowns making him one of the most productive tight ends in school history.
Blackwell had his best season at LSU in 2011, earning first team All-America honors after playing a team-high 779 snaps with 112.5 knockdowns during the regular season. A native of West Monroe, Blackwell was also a first team All-SEC selection as a senior as well as one of two permanent team captains on offense.



Become a Fan    



Go Big 10 Sports





Copyright  2011 GOSECSPORTS.COM  All rights reserved.
GOSECSPORTS.com is not affiliated in any way with the SEC Conference®.
Team logos are the property of the respective members of the SEC.

This website is an unofficial source of sports news and information, and is not affiliated with any school, team or league.