Go SEC Sports


        Your SEC Sports News

                 Apple iTunes







Go SEC Sports





CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. – Christmas came early for one member of the LSU men’s golf program as freshman standout Curtis Thompson fired a score of 13-under par 274 in 72 holes to capture the 81st Dixie Amateur Championship held Dec. 19-22 at the 7,234-yard Heron Bay Golf Club.
After firing back-to-back rounds of 3-under 69 in the first and second rounds held at East Course at Woodlands Country Club, Thompson took home his first career major amateur championship with rounds of 3-under 69 and 4-under 67 at Heron Bay Golf Club en route to a two-stroke victory.
Daniel Berger of Jupiter, Fla., finished two shots behind Thompson in second place on the leader board at 11-under 276, while Motin Yeung of Orlando, Fla., took third place at 9-under 278 for the event.
“I never enter an event thinking I can’t win,” Thompson said. “Going into (the final round), I just focused on keeping the ball in play. The turning point, really, was when I bogeyed No. 6 but then made a 30-footer for birdie on No. 7, and then birdied No. 9 and No. 10.”
Among those in the gallery following Thompson’s every shot was his sister Alexis Thompson. “Lexi” is a rising LPGA Tour star who this year, at the age of 16, became the youngest golfer in history to win on the LPGA and European women’s tours. She also won the women’s Dixie Amateur Championship in 2007 at the age of 12, forming the first brother-sister duo to win the prestigious title.
The men’s Dixie Amateur Championship, which was first played in 1924, is designated as one fo the “majors” of amateur golf by amateurgolf.com. Nearly 30 of the top 500 male amateurs worldwide ranked in the latest World Amateur Golf Rankings competed in the event.
A total of 80 players from the initial field of 240 survived the 36-hole cut at 4-over par after two rounds in the event. Thompson held a one-stroke lead over the rest of the field at 6-under on “Cut Day.”
With his victory, Thompson joins an impressive list of past champions who have enjoyed great success on the PGA Tour, including Andy Bean, Bruce Fleisher, Nolan Henke, Ryuji Imada, Len Mattiace, Jesper Parnevick, Brandt Snedeker, Hal Sutton and Lanny Wadkins. Two-time defending tourney medalist Peter Uihlein did not compete for his third-straight title after declaring his intentions to turn pro next month.



Become a Fan    



Go Big 10 Sports





Copyright  2011 GOSECSPORTS.COM  All rights reserved.
GOSECSPORTS.com is not affiliated in any way with the SEC Conference®.
Team logos are the property of the respective members of the SEC.

This website is an unofficial source of sports news and information, and is not affiliated with any school, team or league.