Go SEC Sports


        Your SEC Sports News

                 Apple iTunes







Go SEC Sports






DALLAS -- LSU cornerback Morris Claiborne is up for another postseason honor as the junior was one of 87 players who were unveiled on the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation’s best defensive player, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and Charlotte Touchdown Club announced on Friday.

The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 17. The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 12 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

Claiborne, who is also up for the Bednarik Award, is coming off a 2010 season where he was a second-team All-Southeastern Conference selection. The Shreveport native led the team and ranked fourth in the SEC with 11 passes defended. He also picked off a team-high five passes, which ranked third in the league.

In 19 career games, Claiborne has notched 44 tackles, six pass breakups and five interceptions.

Former teammate Patrick Peterson was one of three finalists for the award last year. LSU has produced one Nagurski Trophy winner when Glenn Dorsey claimed the honor in 2007.



Become a Fan    



Go Big 10 Sports





Copyright  2011 GOSECSPORTS.COM  All rights reserved.
GOSECSPORTS.com is not affiliated in any way with the SEC Conference®.
Team logos are the property of the respective members of the SEC.

This website is an unofficial source of sports news and information, and is not affiliated with any school, team or league.